The Next Step: the noggingrande Community

Because Big Ideas Need Big Heads…or Something

Things have been quiet on the blog front for a while, but they have not been inactive. In the past month or so, I started inviting friends of mine to do something different, to change the way I structure this blog, and to help me think better about the sorts of things I think about when it comes to the church.

And they all said, “Yes.” 

To be honest, that’s a bit terrifying. All these people who I admire, whose views I cherish even when I disagree with them, and whose friendship and input I value have agreed to be a part of this conversation, and now I’m hoping it doesn’t turn into a giant kerfluffle. We are a group of people from varying backgrounds, in varying church contexts, with varying degrees of education, and varying opinions about how to approach topics of faith. This excites me, but it also means we might not agree.

I also like to feel like I’m the smartest person in the room most of the time, a flaw of mine to be sure, and that most certainly is not the case in this community. If this works as I’m hoping then I’ll actually have to swallow my pride from time to time and change my conclusions about certain things, which I suppose is the point.

Now there’s a part of me that recognizes there are people trying far more difficult things like actually living together in a community that’s having this conversation and not just blogging about it, but as the group is spread all over the world right now that would be more difficult so we’ll do what we can and hope it’s of value.

What Is to Come

So there are some changes on the horizon that will be significant to this blog. Be watching for:

  1. A new address. WordPress should help make sure this happens smoothly and everyone can find what they need at the new site, that’s the hope anyway.
  2. Introductions to the new contributors. There’s quite a few, and they’re all brilliant. You will want to know them, and you will get to.
  3. A new format. I’ll explain this in more detail later, but for now know that we’re working on a somewhat structured way for members of the group to talk about the same topic for a week or more through posts and comments. We’re hoping our readers will join in too. What I’m most looking forward to, however, is that at the end of the conversation there will be a concluding thought that brings the conversation together and offers some insight from the community as a whole.

So that’s where things are going. I’m excited for it, and the folks I’ve talked to since sending out invitations are excited too. I hope it will be the beginning of a new sort of conversation that invites people to imagine God differently in light of his love and through the gracious and Spirit-led community offered through Jesus. Is that too much to ask?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Looking forward to it. Good luck!

    1. noggingrande says:

      Thanks, I can’t help but think of what you are doing with your community in Greenville as I’m putting this together. I’ll be paying attention to what’s going on that way as we begin this that’s for sure.

  2. angelarines says:

    Glad to be a part of this!!

Leave a Reply

