That Inner Voice – gollum, gollum

I have this inner voice that speaks from time to time – gollum, gollum.

You might call it my conscience. You might call it the Holy Spirit. Seth Godin might say it’s the lizard voice, while others might say I’m just plain crazy.

I’ve wondered if it’s all of these and more – gollum, gollum. Sometimes the voice is challenging. Sometimes its reassuring. Sometimes it argumentative, and other time it acquiesces to my will. Sometimes it’s a fleeting thought, a passing whisper, or a 20-ton weight hanging from my shoulders so that I can barely breath. Sometimes it speaks about decisions I have to make, while other times it talks about things over which I have no control. Sometimes its right. Sometimes its wrong – gollum, gollum, and its that last trait that makes things so difficult.

Do you ever have a voice like that? One that tries desperately to guide your decisions and your life? What do you do when it flies in the face of wisdom, logic, and reason? What do you do when its right? What do you do when its wrong? 

I’m beginning to think I’ve put too much stock in this inner voice, and of course it fights me on that too – gollum, gollum. And so I wonder what am I to do? I set it up against the Bible, but that rarely helps because it doesn’t like to talk about things that I find there–at least not directly.

Actually, I don’t think I want to give much credence to anything this voice has to say – gollum, but I would instead, rather use my mind, my reason, my intellect. Study, pray, deduce, confer. That’s the plan I’d like to take. Seek the path of wisdom, rather than intuition.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t know though, the intuition has to come from some part of us? Maybe our heart’s truest desires. I think listening to that voice can really help us learn more about us and what we truly desire. However, it is important to hear what that voice says, examine it, and then make the decision that is best for us. Sometimes logic may not be the best option for us, maybe sometimes what our heart truly desires is what is best. It’s a risk, yes, but at the same time what is life without taking a few risks?

    Just some thoughts. 🙂

    1. noggingrande says:

      Hey Erik,
      I think the thing I’m hoping to “logically” discern is how to tell the voice of the Spirit of God, who has given me a new heart and written his law on my heart through Jesus and the voice of the deceiver and many anti-christs who would have me live in the midst of some lie. Some of those lies might well come from my truest desires (see today’s post) and seem really good, but be other than what God would have for me. I do absolutely agree that it’s important and often necessary to risk, but that risk often comes within the logic of the kingdom of God (which will look like foolishness to the rest of the world).

      Thanks for commenting! Hope to hear from you again!

    2. I definitely find this post interesting, because I have two been wondering about this “voice” for a while now. My question though is how do we distinguish between this “voice” and the law God has given to us? Cause many times I find it difficult to really distinguish the “lies” from the truth because so often the lies can be disguised as something that seems right.

      I really am just more interested in examining this “voice” you describe because I really feel as if it is a big part of our relationship with God because I feel it is at the heart of all of our decisions, which our decisions subsequently show what our true relationship with God and Christ is.

      I don’t know, I am just really fascinated by the description you posted. And before reading this I really didn’t have a clear image of what this looked like, but after reading it I really felt as if this description was exactly what I have been trying to put a name to for a while.

      I would love to hear more about your thoughts on this, if you have some.

      Erik

      1. noggingrande says:

        Good thoughts Erik. I can think of three things that help us discern the voice of God’s Spirit and other voices:

        1. Consulting the Bible. If the voice is saying something that is clearly opposed to what scripture teaches (i.e. it’s ok to hate your neighbor) then you don’t need to do much more digging. It’s not the voice of God.
        2. Look at the example of Jesus. There’s a lot that the Bible speaks directly to, but there’s a lot that takes more discerning. Ultimately we have to look to Jesus to best understand who God is and what he wants people to look like we look to Jesus. If the voice speaks counter to Jesus then it’s not the voice of God.
        3. Seek the council of the church. We often can neglect the value of the church, but there are lots of people in God’s family who can help us discern the voice by helping better filter it through scripture and Jesus. Especially when the issue is something not directly spoken to by the Bible.

        Those are the three main filters I think that God gives us. What do you think? I’m really thankful for your questions because they help me process the issue more fully.

Leave a Reply

