What happened to July?

The return of noggingrande
Hello, anybody there?

A whole month just flew right by. After a much-needed sabbath from the blog while I finalized details for and experienced our church’s trip to Wounded Knee, it’s time to get back to it. I have some news coming this week that I’m excited to share, and I am also going to be adding some temporary Tuesday and Thursday posts for next few weeks so that I can finish up some of the series that I started before the break. On the whole, it looks to be a busy month here at the noggingrande blog.

So, what happened in July?

Well, mainly I got the opportunity to travel with 20 other people from our church to the Lakota Memorial Church of the Nazarene in Wounded Knee, located on the Pine Ridge Reservation. We spent the week there with people from the church working around the campus in whatever ways we were able.  For the most part, the trip went even better than I had hoped. We got more work done than we thought we would, the group began relationships with people there, and there is already talk of more than one group returning in the future.

Why does the church neglect foot-washing services?

My favorite part of the whole week came at the beginning. That’s not to say that it was all downhill from there, rather I believe the rest of the week benefited from how we began our work in Wounded Knee. A few weeks prior to the trip, a member of the group suggested that we do a foot-washing service for the pastor and other members of the church where we were working. I have always been a part of churches for which foot-washing was important and I was glad to make this a reality. Sunday night, after we unloaded and set up camp, we were a part of a special foot-washing service where I was able to wash the feet of church’s pastor and others from out group took turns sharing in the act of washing the feet of the people from the church.

The funny thing is, I flubbed about everything I said or did that night. From an execution standpoint, the service went about as smoothly as the rocky, rutted, gravel road that takes you to the church from the highway. Thankfully, God is in the business of making such rocky, rutted, gravel roads smooth for the appearance of his kingdom. He blessed the service, and I believe it helped our group serve more fully, and I think it helped as we sought relationships with the people from the area.

I will never understand why churches neglect Jesus’ words to practice such a service. As I look at my servant’s towel from Anderson University’s School of Theology, and I remember the face of Dr. Gill Stafford preaching its importance, I’m thankful for the suggestion to make it a part of our trip.

I will be reflecting more on our trip in the future. In the meantime I hope that if you are reading this post, you are happy things are back up and running here.

Leave a Reply

