Weekend Rewind: What am I supposed to do with my life?

[As we enter into the summer, our Weekend Rewinds will look a little different. We won’t always have a weekend lesson to which we can “rewind”. When that is the case I am going to review a lesson series I did with high school students about discerning the will of God in our lives.]

What am I supposed to do with my life?

That was the question I was given when I asked our high school students what they wanted to study as their last Sunday school series of the school year. The question is perfectly normal to ask when you are in high school, but what struck me was the way it was phrased.

There was fear behind the question. There was an underlying assumption that if they did not answer the question correctly their life would be ruined and God (or at the very least their parents) would be angry with them. So we struck out on a four week series about discerning the will of God for our lives.

Looking back, I think I am about 75% satisfied with this lesson series (mabye less) so I thought that rather than presenting it as it was taught,  I would offer it up to the folks who stop by the blog and get your feedback.

My biggest regret in how the class went was that I taught with too much certainty. Since the class ended I have had doubts about my conclusions. I invite you to join the conversation, understanding that I might very well not know the right answer. This is probably the best way to start a conversation anyway.

Here are the questions that will get us started:

  1. Does God have a specific will for your life?
  2. If so, how detailed is God’s will for your life?
  3. How do you figure out what his will is? 
  4. How do you make big life decisions like what to study in college or who to marry? (These were two of the larger questions facing the Sunday School class as we went along.)

I would like to interject some preliminary thoughts here, but I would rather not bias the conversation. Feel free to respond to the questions, and if you reply to someone else’s comment, I ask that you would do so lovingly and respectfully. That is God’s will for all of us for sure.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Grant says:

    1)Yes and No. I believe that God has a sovereign will (one that we cannot go outside of) and a moral will for us. His sovereign will is His plan, we can do nothing to prevent this. His moral will for us is the will that we can go outside of, but only out of disobedience. I don’t believe that He cares what tie I wear today, or what job I take, or who I marry — as long as those decisions are within His moral will. Meaning that I don’t wear an offensive tie, don’t work at a strip club and marry a Christian. But on the other hand, since different things can be wrong for different people (those things that are not absolutes) His moral will for my life will be different than someone else’s (because I will be faced with different decisions).
    2) On one hand not very detailed. On the other hand, since He knows what I’ll choose, very detailed. 😉
    3) Know His moral will, i.e. read the Bible and let the Holy Spirit talk to you.
    4) By taking a reasoned approach and knowing that God will be okay with whatever I choose as long as it is within his moral will.

    1. noggingrande says:

      Thanks for the thoughts Grant, I think you’ll track well with the series. How do you understand verses like Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” or Psalm 139:16, “in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”?

      Good hearing from you!

  2. Grant says:

    I was afraid you’d bring that up. 😉

    I would say that it is referring to “leaning on your own understanding” in moral issues. So, just because you think it is right/wrong doesn’t make it right/wrong. It should be weighed against the Bible.

    And I’d say that the second verse fits within my thoughts on God’s sovereign will.

    But I could be wrong. 🙂

    1. noggingrande says:

      I think these verses will help the conversation in future posts. I’ll try to work them into the next couple of posts and see what comes of it. Your perspective makes sense to me, but its also one of the areas that I’m trying to articulate and think through faithfully.

Leave a Reply

